DPsim


Dynamic phasor power system real-time simulator

DPsim

DPsim is a real-time capable power system simulator that operates in the dynamic phasor (DP) and EMT domain. This solver primarily targets co-simulation and large-scale scenarios since dynamic phasor variables do not require sampling rates as high as EMT simulations. Due to the frequency shift introduced by the DP approach, the sampling rate and rate of data exchange between simulators can be reduced. Thus, it is also possible to simulate high frequencies introduced by power electronics with lower sampling rates than in EMT simulations.

DPsim supports the CIM format as native input for the description of electrical network topologies, component parameters and load flow data, which is used for initialization. For this purpose, CIM++ is integrated in DPsim. Users interact with the simulation kernel via Python bindings, which can be used to script the execution, schedule events, change parameters and retrieve results. Supported by the availability of existing Python frameworks like Numpy, Pandas and Matplotlib, Python scripts have been proven as an easy and flexible way to codify the complete workflow of a simulation from modelling to analysis and plotting, for example in Jupyter notebooks.

The DPsim simulation kernel is implemented in C++ and uses the Eigen linear algebra library. By using a system programming language like C++ and a highly optimized math library, optimal performance and real-time execution can be guaranteed. The integration into the VILLASframework allows DPsim to be used in large-scale co-simulations.

Documentation

Downloads

For further question please consider joining our Slack channel: FEIN e.V. Slack.

Publications

DPsim is presented and/or used by the following publications:

2017, Institute for Automation of Complex Power Systems, EONERC

Licensing

GPLv3 logo

DPsim is released as open source software under the GPLv3 license.

Other licensing options available upon request. Please contact Prof. Antonello Monti for further details.

Contact

EONERC ACS Logo

Institute for Automation of Complex Power Systems (ACS)
EON Energy Research Center (EONERC)
RWTH University Aachen, Germany

DPsim


Echtzeit-Simulator für Elektrische Netze

DPsim

DPsim ist ein echtzeitfähiger Stromversorgungssystemsimulator, welcher in der dymamic phasor und EMT Domain arbeitet. Dieser Solver zielt hauptsächlich auf Co-Simulation und große Szenarien ab, da dynamic phasor Variablen nicht so große Samplingraten wie EMT Simulationen brauchen. Durch die durch den DP Ansatz eingeführte Frequenzverschiebung können die Samplingrate und die Datenaustauschrate zwischen Simulatoren reduziert werden. So ist es auch möglich hohe Frequenzen zu simulieren, welche durch Leistungselektronik mit geringeren Samplingsraten als in EMT Simulationen eingeführt werden.

DPSIM unterstützt das CIM Format als nativen Input für die Beschreibung elektrischer Netzwerktopologien, Komponentenparameter und Lastflussdaten, welche für die Initialisierung verwendet werden. Zu diesem Zweck ist CIM++ in DPSim integriert. Benutzer interagieren mit dem Simulationskernel über Python Bindings, was genutzt werden kann um die Durchführung zu skripten, Events zu planen, Parameter zu ändern und Ergebnisse zu erhalten. Unterstützt durch die Verfügbarkeit existierender Python Frameworks wie Numpy, Pandas und Matplotlib haben sich Python Skripte als einfacher und flexibler Weg erwiesen, den kompletten Workflow einer Simulation zu coden, von Modellierung über Analyse bis hin zum Plotten, zum Beispiel in Jupyter Notebooks.

Der DPSim Simulationskernel ist in C++ implementiert und benutzt die Eigen linear algebra Bibliothek. Durch die Nutzung einer Systemprogrammierspache wie C++ und einer hochoptimierten Mathematik Bibliothek können optimale Performance und Echtzeitausführung garantiert werden. Die Integration in das VILLASframework erlaubt es DPsim auch in großen Co-Simulationen eingesetzt zu werden.

Dokumentation

Downloads

Für weitere Fragen treten Sie bitte unserem Slack Channel bei: FEIN e.V. Slack.

Publikationen

DPsim wird präsentiert und/oder verwendet in folgenden Publikationen:

2017, Institute for Automation of Complex Power Systems, EONERC

Lizensierung

GPLv3 logo

DPsim ist als Open Source Software unter der GPLv3 Lizenz veröffentlicht.

Weitere Lizensierungsmöglichkeiten sind auf Anfrage verfügbar. Bitte kontaktieren Sie dazu Prof. Antonello Monti für weitere Details.

Kontakt

EONERC ACS Logo

Institute for Automation of Complex Power Systems (ACS)
EON Energy Research Center (EONERC)
RWTH University Aachen, Germany